Posted by: DancingQueen | March 4, 2010

Homemade Pizza Dough with Mozzarella, Parmesan, and Sausage Sauce

Homemade Pizza

Homemade Pizza

My parents are New Yorkers and my father loves a good pizza.  I do too.  I had been eying Pete’s recipe (pizza recipe) for homemade dough over at Pete Bakes! for awhile and finally figured I’d give it a try last night.  I rolled up 6 balls, tucked them to bed in lightly oiled parchment paper in the fridge and then tucked myself in to bed.   My father had also received a lovely pizza baking set (Bialetti Casa Italia) that had cob webs on it in the laundry room which I dusted off.  The set contained: Pizza Stone, Serving Rack, Pizza Cutter, and Pizza Peel (the wooden thing they use to get pizzas into and out of an oven).  The stone was large and heavy, the rack was not used, the cutter wasn’t sharp enough, and the pizza peel I found next to useless (partially because I lacked cornmeal).  But, in the end (and with a heap more flour), 4 of the 6 balls turned into pizzas and found their way into happy tummies.  Each ball made a very thin 5 to 6″ pie and in my oven, at 550 – I added a few more minutes for slight char – 10-12 min – cooking two pizzas on the stone at a time.  I used store bought mozzarella, parmesan (not self-grated), and Bertolli Italian Sausage sauce.  I’m not proud of this fact, but I wasn’t sure if my first attempt at pizza would go in in flames and didn’t want to risk good ingredients (notice no basil either).

I’m happy I didn’t make this for a crowd as I can eat one pizza ball by myself.  End result?  They were good, rustic and homemadey, but I still want a proper pizza made by New Yorkers – which I surely will get later this month.  All my pizza did was make me crave garlic rolls.

Homemade Pizza: Round 2

Homemade Pizza: Round 2

Responses

  1. […] Pizza Dough with Caramelized Onions, Cheddar, Parmesan, and Sausage Sauce So…having 6 personalized pizzas to test out, I’m getting a little sick of pizza.  The basics are better understood through […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

